Gratitude

If you’ve been a regular reader from the start, you’ll probably remember several postings about how I was having trouble adjusting to the life of a stay-at-home mom.  Need a refresher?  Here and here and here.  This independent, always-need-to-have-a-project woman was struggling with “just being a mom.”IMG_6710

However, over the past week or so, I’ve found myself thinking, “I’m getting a hang of this!”  On more than one occasion, I’ve proudly reported to my husband that my day was productive and I was minimally stressed out by the evening.  Of course, I still have my moments of being overwhelmed, where I fight back the urge to cry–most recently, this evening when my teething, sick, painfully constipated, exhausted little man refused to eat anything other than a few bits of avocado for dinner–but, overall, I’ve been feeling really good about myself.

I’ve been doing quite a bit more babysitting, so I’m bringing some money in–which validates my worth so much more.  I’ve IMG_6496had sweet friends purchasing my birds (one darling friend even put some on her baby registry), and promises to purchase soap once I have some ready to sell.  Another friend has asked me to share a booth with her at an artisan fair–meep! So exciting and yet I’m nervous–which shows that she believes in me.

I want to take a moment to say thank you to everyone who has shown me love and support over the past ten months (holy cow, my baby is ten months old tomorrow!).  The emotional support and companionship have kept me from losing my mind.  Trusting me to watch your children while tending to my own has really pumped my self-esteem and has shown me that I can handle more than I originally believed.  Supporting my craft, both through purchases and donating supplies, validates that I have some talent (sometimes I have an issue with self-worth and feeling prideful of my goods).  Thank you everyone for all you do for me and my family.

In close, new mommies and daddies who are overly familiar with the overwhelming stress that comes from being a new parent or stay-at-home parent, know that it gets better.  You start to figure everything out.  Your baby get slightly less needy with age, just enough to make life more manageable.  Hang in there, that day will come!

One thought on “Gratitude

  1. I love reading your blogs. I remember going through so many of the things you are experiencing. One word of advice, don’t get too comfortable. I found that just when I thought I had everything figured out, the kids change and life was upside down again. But it keeps you on your toes. 🙂

Leave a Reply

