A Quick Glimpse

I’ve been meaning to post for a while now.  I promised myself yesterday that I would sit down and write, but then I got sucked into the book The Help and any free moment was spent reading .  If you haven’t read it, go get a copy now.  I finished it in <24hrs (yay for long baby naps!) and am still stuck in that world.  I love it when books leave me reeling.

Anyway, since I delayed my posting and I failed to jot down my topic ideas, I’m just going to do a quick update on life at my house.

Baby boy has gotten exponentially more curious since learning to crawl.  Thankfully, we’ve only had one instance of fingers being shut in a drawer, but there have been lots of bumped heads.  Bug repeatedly tries to crawl underneath our coffee table, but there’s a board that runs low to the floor and he can’t get his knees over it.  Consequently, he regularly gets stuck, banging his head as he tries to escape.  It’s hilarious and heartbreaking all at once.

We’ve been working on “No,” and, so far, Bug is very receptive to our instructions.  He has also learned to clap, which is pretty much the most adorable thing I’ve ever seen.  He does it all the time. My heart melts and I can’t help but join him.

I’ve unmolded a couple of pretty soaps not too long ago (gosh, I need to soap more!).

Oatmeal Honey Orange Honey from Christy

Oatmeal Honey Orange
Honey from Christy

 

100% Lavender Flowers from Alison  Leaves from Mum

100% Lavender
Flowers from Alison
Leaves from Mum

I finally gave in and ordered a couple of synthetic fragrances to try with my soap.  I still plan to do the bulk of my soaps as 100% natural (I even ordered some natural coloring agents), but decided to offer a few synthetics so that I can cover a larger range of scents.  Also, as I tried to order more essential oils, I got increasingly stressed because EOs can be tricky to use and not everyone should use them.  For example, pregnant women shouldn’t use most of the EOs I found (or should at least consult their doctors before using).  The caution is probably more because the EOs haven’t been studied heavily for safety with pregnant ladies (I myself only used homemade, natural goat milk soap when I was pregnant–heck, that’s why I switched to goat milk soap–and my Bug turned out beautiful).  Essential oils of cloves and cinnamon (awesome scents!) have to be super diluted or they could really irritate your skin.    All in all, I got overwhelmed by trying to be natural while creating a safe soap.  When I get more comfortable with EOs, diluting, and the cautions that go along with them, I’ll get more adventurous.  I plan on labeling my 100% natural versus synthetic scented soaps so that my customers can make informed decisions.

That’s it!  I’ve been spending a lot of play time with my baby guy.  It has finally cooled down enough that we’re on Day 2 of open windows and no A/C (YAY!).  Just enjoying life.

5 thoughts on “A Quick Glimpse

    • Thank you! They smell good too! And yes! The movie was made off of the book. I haven’t seen it yet, but my friend who recommended the book to me enjoyed it alright. She said she would have liked the movie even better if she hadn’t read the book =P Isn’t that always how it goes!

Leave a Reply

