James River Artisan Festival

with my little helper

with my little helper

I’m finally able to breathe after a whirlwind of a weekend.  After several sleepless nights and a frantic day of printing, cutting, and tyinglabels for my soap, the James River Artisan Festival arrived.  And what do you know, it went wonderfully!  I mean, I nearly left for the event without my table and chairs, but that’s where my husband earned his keep.

For a first annual event in a small town, there was a really great turnout.  Artisans from all over Virginia gathered to display and sell their wares.  One amazing musician played for us all day–he truly was a great addition and, with a lot of genre variation, he kept us entertained all day.  I particularly loved the experience of sharing my booth with the extraordinary basket weaver, Laura Mellusi (I really need to see if she has a site because you must check out her gorgeous handicraft!).  Having a friend with me throughout the day made the experience that much more pleasurable–and thank you to all the other wonderful friends (and family!) who came by to support us too!

IMG_8395

ready for the event

My soap sold very well, even with another soap maker selling directly across from me (she was super sweet and actually bought one of my mother’s crocheted washcloths from me).  I had my first repeat customer who wasn’t a friend or family member so I was pretty excited about her.  By the end of the festival, I was exhausted but felt good about the experience and how much soap sold.  I was able to network with some local businesses that would like to sell my soap and received invitations to sell at other specialty events.

 

A few special thanks you’s to:

  • My husband, for being so encouraging, helpful, and understanding, despite my manic moments
  • My folks, for entertaining my wee one so that I could participate in the festival
  • Laura, for believing in me and inviting me to share a booth with her
  • Anna Miron, for using her amazing talent to design such incredible and perfectly suited labels for my soap

And now for pictures…enjoy!

 

loving the new packaging

loving the new packaging

 

texture & color

texture & color

 

sampling of soap

sampling of soap

 

gift set package, cloth by my mother

gift set package, cloth by my mother

 

my table

my table

Leave a Reply

