Update on Life

I think it’s safe to say that the “Terrible Twos” have arrived early in our house.  My darling Bug is, overall, a very happy, easy kid.

crooked grin

crooked grin

Comparatively, he’s more flexible and easy going than other children his age.  However, over the past few weeks, he has had subtle shifts in habits.  My child who has slept through the night since 4 months old is now waking up around 5/530AM every day tonurse.  Yesterday, he did not nap once, despite his red eyes and drifting while nursing (when I finally gave up on napping in the crib and decided to nurse him to sleep, he refused to nurse).  Needless to say, it has been an increasingly frustrating past few weeks. I’m having to re-learn how to juggle caring for him, my lactation coursework, and running my soap business–the latter two were previously attended to during nap time, which looks like a luxury of the past.  It does help that my little Buggy is adorable (he is currently giving me crooked grins while doing the happy dance), but I can feel my blood pressure soar when he dumps my envelopes all over the floor and opens all the highlighters while I try to photograph my soaps (true story from this morning).  Motherhood is a constant learning experience for sure.

Speaking of soap, I was on a huge soaping hiatus during the holiday season.  I sold out of almost all my soaps, which is an excellent feeling.  The rest of my soaps can be purchased locally at The Spa in Dillwyn until I build up my inventory at home.  If you’re in the area, stop by the Spa and check out all the other local crafters’ goods, they’re beautiful, and have Melissa pamper you–she’s amazing!

IMG_9207

currently on the curing rack

I currently only have two batches of soap that have finished curing.  One is Ginger Grapefruit, warming and one of my favorites.  The other is a new blend that is perfect for morning showers and face cleanses.  Called Wake Me Up (yes, I love Avcii’s song) it is a refreshing blend of eucalyptus, tea tree, and lemongrass.  Added ground oats act as an extra exfoliant and moisturizer.

Lavender, my best seller, will finish curing at the end of the month.  I tried a new swirling technique with this batch and it turned out pretty great for a first attempt.  It’s not perfect but will get there.  The lavender tends to sell-out before it’s fully cured so if you would like to reserve your bar, let me know!   The others available for reservation are Rosemary Fir Needle, Face Soap (great for blemishes), Wake Me Up, and Ginger Grapefruit (pictured from left to right in the above image).

IMG_9193

lavender goat milk soap

I’ve missed blogging (and frequently “write” blog entries in my head) so I will do my best to update when possible.  Hopefully Buggy will settle into a better routine soon so that my time is less scarce.  Until then!  Take care and stay warm (it’s dreary and wet here).

Leave a Reply

